St Clair High School logo

St Clair High School

St Clair High School

Personal Best for Everyone

Telephone02 9670 6700


The study of mathematics is mandatory from Kindergarten to Year 10. 

By studying mathematics, students learn to work mathematically – developing fluency, understanding, problem-solving, reasoning and communication skills.

The syllabus consists of the following strands:

  • number and algebra
  • measurement and geometry
  • statistics and probability.

In Year 11 and 12, the study of mathematics is optional. Courses offered include:

  • Mathematics Extension 2 (Year 12 only)
  • Mathematics Extension 1
  • Mathematics Advanced
  • Mathematics Standard 2
  • Mathematics Standard 1 (Optional HSC examination)
  • Mathematics Life Skills.

Junior Mathematics

All students in Stage 4 (Years 7 and 8) follow the same curriculum; however, adjustments are regularly made for some students to suit their academic ability.

In Stage 5 (Years 9 and 10), the curriculum is delivered at two different levels; Stage 5.3 and Stage 5.2/5.1.

Students are graded into the classes based on their Stage 4 results and work ethic in the classroom. It is important for students to be studying the correct level as there are minimum recommendations for the senior courses: 

  • students who complete Stage 5.2/5.1 should select standard mathematics.
  • students who complete 5.3 have the option of either standard or advanced mathematics. If they are excelling in Years 9 and 10 they should select advanced and consider further study in the extension courses.

At the end of each unit of work students will be assessed as to how well they understood the topic. They will also complete a half-yearly and yearly exam to further demonstrate their understanding.

Senior mathematics

In Stage 6 (Years 11 and 12) students have a choice of subjects they can study which vary in difficulty. All are ATAR approved.

  • Standard Mathematics (2 units)
  • Advanced Mathematics (2 units)
  • Students who study the Advanced course have the option of Extension 1 (1 unit) in Year 11 and Extension 2 (1 unit) in Year 12.

In Year 11 there are three scheduled assessment tasks for each two unit course: an assignment; an in-class assessment task and a formal examination.

In Year 12 there are 4 scheduled assessment tasks for each two unit HSC course: an assignment, 2 in-class assessment tasks and a trial examination which replicates the format of the upcoming final HSC examination.

Standard mathematics

All standard students in Year 11 complete the same course.

In Year 12 students choose whether they complete the standard 2 mathematics pathway or standard 1 mathematics pathway.

The standard 2 mathematics is a more challenging course and is a 'category A' which means students are eligible for an ATAR. While the standard 1 mathematics is a 'category B' course. To be eligible for an ATAR all subjects must be a 'category A' and students must sit the HSC examination.

Advanced mathematics

Advanced mathematics is a Years 11 and 12 course.

Students in this course have the option of also studying extension 1 mathematics in Year 11.

Students who successfully complete both advanced mathematics and extension 1 have the option of studying extension 2 mathematics in Year 12.